Skip to content

Food

May 13, 2010

My 5 year-old is a “grazer”, he’s in and out of the refrigerator at least 30 times a day.  No lie.  He typically wants 1 of 5 things- raspberries, strawberries, go gurt, string cheese, or pickles.  Serious, I just heard the door again…  We had, wait, what am I saying, we Have similar issues with my oldest.  His choices include bananas, clementines, bread, more bread, some peanut butter, grilled cheese, apples, and chocolate milk.  What did my pediatrician say when I expressed concern that my oldest refuses to eat meat or veggies?  “He’s growing well.  You’ve lost that battle, move on to the next.”

Food is a major issue in our house.  It is not uncommon for me to make 3 separate meals in one night.  Now, before you say, “that’s ridiculous, just make one meal and if they eat, they eat, if they don’t, they don’t.”.  Tried that.  The oldest starved himself for 2 days.  Mom might have been able to stick with the plan, but no way Dad or Grandparents would last another day.  So, our oldest will likely go to college eating one thing for dinner: grilled cheese, and the youngest, well, hopefully he’ll find something to eat at a restaurant besides bread if he ever wants to date.

Anyway, what’s my point with all this.  Food has become a control issue for my oldest, and a habit for my youngest.  Throw in my husband’s all or none dieting techniques, Grandparents and spouses addiction to chips and trips to McDonalds with my kids, and you’ve got one person who shouldn’t be giving advice about food- me.  It’s a good thing I’m a physical therapist and not a dietician.

So what do I make of all this?  Hmmm, that’s a good question.  I started out writing this blog to talk about eating as habit, instead of eating because we are hungry.  Which is interesting, because I am so often talking to clients about making their exercise “routine” so it becomes as expected as brushing your teeth.  But in the case of food, its time to break the habit!  Ask yourself- why am I eating?  Am I hungry, or is it because it’s 9:00, my favorite show is on T.V. and I always eat while I watch?

Here is a very informative article about emotional eating from the Mayo Clinic.  If you struggle with making healthy eating choices, this article includes great suggestions to “Gain control of Emotional Eating”.

http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/weight-loss/MH00025

Be Well!

Swen

One Comment leave one →
  1. carrie-lynn permalink
    May 14, 2010 2:57 pm

    This is such a tricky subject because we all have our trouble areas when it comes to food. And we want our kids to not struggle with weight and health like we do – but of course, everyone has to learn their own lessons.

    It becomes a political matter, also, when you consider how deeply ingrained into our palates food companies have become. What we think “tastes” good isn’t so simple anymore, when you realize that many foods have been engineered to keep you shoveling them down. It’s a little freaky and as a parents you have to walk the line between forbidden fruits to downright irresponsibility.

Leave a Reply

