Skip to content

Core Strength At Work: Bike Rides

June 27, 2010

So, in my case, strengthening my core has zero to do with wearing a bikini.  Those days are over baby.  But I keep noticing little differences in how my body works as awareness of these muscles grows.

Take riding a bike.

In the past, the bike-riding was mostly about tiring out legs and maybe my arms a bit, too, and trying not to get killed by passing cars and wishing I had a new bike basket and not understanding how to use my gears – now I have a single-speed, which is totally EXCELLENT for people with no comprehension of how simple machines work.

But now when I ride my daughter off to summer school every morning, or when we tool around the block after dinner, I realize that my core doesn’t want to slouch down when I ride.  My entire middle wants to, I don’t know – pull in and sorta, flatten out, I guess? This actually feels better on my back and takes the pressure off my wrists, which is nice – I have bad wrists (from being on the computer constantly – I know, big shock).

Perhaps Swen can explain this is more technical and precise terms, but as far as I’m concerned, a stronger core makes for a more pleasant bike ride.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 27, 2010 11:12 pm

    Carrie, you are absolutely correct! When you engage your core, your spine is supported, which encourages a more “neutral” posture. Proper alignment and support provide a more stable base for your extremities to do their jobs while at the same time relieving some of the pressure on those joints with activity.

    Body awareness is one of the first goals I have for my clients, and you are demonstrating true awareness! Great job!

    And thank you so much for your posts! You are an inspiration (and an extremely talented and hilarious writer) and I am so glad to have you on this site 🙂
    Swen

Leave a Reply

