Skip to content

My First 5K

August 2, 2010

I never thought I would become one of “those people.”

You know, the kind of people who sign up for “fun runs” or train for marathons or have bike racks mounted on their cars.  The people with state park passes who are out endlessly recreating in the sunshine.  I’ve always been more of a couch-and-book-and-wisecrack kinda girl.

But on August 21st, I’m going to attempt to impersonate one of “those people.”

I would never have started running if Swen hadn’t suggested it as an accompaniment to her ABSolution! program.  And now I find myself planning out my training workouts and amping up my playlists and downplaying how long a mile really is.

I never would have believed this would be me.

My goal is to finish the 5k, and run the entirety.  I know I can run 3 miles without stopping – I have done it.  But just once.  Today I hope to do it again.  The ABSolution! exercises Swen mentioned for my achy hip have also become de rigueur and are helping.

But I have questions, as always.

What to eat?  What to wear?  Should I have coffee?  What if I have to pee/poop?  Do I drink water during the race or wait until the end? Do I have to talk to people or can I just listen to my iPod?  What won’t I expect?

Any first-time 5k race advice from readers would be much appreciated!

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 19, 2010 5:53 am

    I just came across this blog post and I have the perfect thing! These pro runners put together some great stuff on running…

    http://runningbums.com/ultimate-guide-to-running-like-a-pro-e-book/

    It’s good for beginners and they helped me with my Boston Marathon.

Leave a Reply

