Skip to content

Working Out With Your Kids, Part II

August 4, 2010

I’ve been struggling to keep my girl active and here’s an update.

1)  If you wear out your kid with swimming and playing outside and bike rides and walking the dog and running errands and if she goes to bed too late without remembering to pee before tucking in…well, make sure you have a mattress pad.

2)  Badminton in the front lawn is not to be underestimated.  Try playing with no net for even more random results.

3)  I taught some classes last week and started adding various exercises and activities (“50 jumping jacks”, “walk the dog around the park” and “bring hamper to washing machine”) on my baby-sitter’s to-do list.  Bam!  Nothing like a 14-year-old girl to execute my will without any blowback or fuss!

4)  I don’t have to discuss “being active” explicitly.  Instead, I have been saying things like, “Go look for some treasures on the path at the park and bring three things back to me.”

5)  But when I am trying to discourage laziness or eating a junky food, my husband and I have gotten in the habit of saying, “Strong bodies – does that build them?”

6)  When running errands, have the kids come in!  Eschew the drive-through auto-bank.  Park far away and walk inside!  This may be easier for people like me with one child who is 7.  But still.  Adding steps is good for both of us and I often forget to do it myself.

7)  Two Words:  Lady GaGa.

8)  Kids Fun Fitness on Comcast On Demand – do a little yoga or ABC Hip-Hop dance if it’s raining or too hot.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

