Skip to content

Skinny Fat

April 18, 2011

Have you heard the term before?

I hadn’t either until I ran across a blog where a woman was using that term to describe herself and a resounding “ding” went off in my head prompting me to the awareness of my own “skinny fat”. No lie. I have it. So does my dog!  No one around me really noticed. It’s been easy to hide in baggier tops to lessen the look of shelf forming on my butt. Most don’t notice, which in and of itself lends damage to the skinny fat phenomona. No one knows. No one cares. Except, I NOTICE and I CARE! This is not my body and not my size. Does that make sense?

Skinny Fat is a term used for someone who is lean in stature & build but as slipped off the wagon a time or two or seventy seven hundred times.. It’s having a good metabolism, which used to be great and not knowing that the same entertaining food can no longer be consumed at the rate it was before. It’s realizing that exercise is a must. It’s something no one wants to talk about because people who don’t suffer from it and have their own weight issues kind of hate you for even caring about the extra pounds… but it all starts somewhere and I need to be open about it.

My moment of truth (AGAIN) was twofold. A) Skinny Fat blog article  B) Getting on the scale

I really tried to make a go of getting healthy last year around this time, but I failed and let intoxicating ways just take the reigns of control. It wasn’t doing any harm to anyone else and the skinny fat was creeping on so slowly that I barely noticed it was there until my jeans were failing to fit me the way they used to. Conversations in my head of “did I just wash these” to “aren’t these supposed to be my ‘fat’ pants” were becoming all too common. I had to get on the scale and I had to see myself in the mirror truthfully again. This required the ‘turnaround’. You know the one…. turn around and look at your butt in the mirror. See, because I don’t really gain weight anywhere EXCEPT my badonkadonk and my thunderous thighs. Seriously could hear the rumble when in close proximity to me.

This was 2 weeks ago. The knowledge. The need to change. Again.

Since then, I’ve managed to lose several of the pounds gathered (a whopping 10 pounds total needed to lose) by taking back my food to healthy human proportions. Like, a turkey carving tray is not a proper dinner plate, or an amount that could fit on it. Just sayin.. Working into a workout routine, which thank GOD ABSolution is easy to use and shows quick results. Like I feel it. Now.

Do you have skinny fat? Can all the skinny girls who have lost their 6 packs into 4 packs of fat please stand up and wave your arms? Um, thanks! I don’t feel alone anymore.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 5, 2013 7:21 am

    Simply wish to say your article is as astonishing.

    The clarity in your post is simply great and i could assume you’re an expert on this subject. Well with your permission let me to grab your feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please keep up the rewarding work.

Leave a Reply

